Appointments roundup from Wednesday


Here’s the latest round of Gov. Laura Kelly’s board appointments from Wednesday.

Wichita State Board of Trustees

Appointed Keith Stevens and Nancy Snyder to the Wichita State University Board of Trustees.

Stevens is the executive vice president for Southwest National Bank, and is also on the bank’s board of directors. He also worked as the president of Tele-Systems, Inc. Stevens received a master’s in business administration from the Stanford University Graduate School of Business, and a bachelor’s in civil engineering from Oklahoma University.

Snyder is retired after serving nearly 40 years on the faculty of Wichita State University, most recently as director of the Hugo Wall School of Public Affairs and the Master of Public Administration program. She also served as director of institutional research and as associate vice president for academic affairs and research. Snyder received a bachelor’s in mathematics from Clarke College in Iowa and a masters and a doctorate in economics from Southern Illinois University.

Workers Compensation and Employment Security Boards

Named Cindy Volanti of Manhattan to the board. Volanti works as the human resource manager for Riley County. Previously, she worked as Riley County’s administrative account analyst. She earned an associate degree in science from Cloud County Community College, a certificate in data processing from the Manhattan Area Vocational-Technical School and a dual bachelor’s degree in general business management and human resource management from Kansas State University.

911 Coordinating Council

The governor named six people the panel, which plans strategy for future improvements to the state’s 911 system.

She reappointed four members and appointed two new members. They are: Joshua Michaelis of Lyons (reappointment); Jonathan York of Topeka (reappointment); Jerry Harrison of  Independence (reappointment); Ellen Wernicke of Gardner (reappointment); Terry Clark of Holton and Elizabeth Phillips of Lawrence. The council is made up of 28 members, including 22 named by the governor.

Kansas Military Disability
Review Board

The governor named seven members to the board, which decides compensation for members of the Kansas National Guard or the Kansas State Guard in cases of disability or death.

The appointments are Brig. Gen. David Weishaar, Joint Chief of Staff for the Kansas Air National Guard; Col. J. Matthew Oleen, chief of staff for the Kansas Army National Guard; Col. Paul Schneider, director of personnel for the Kansas Army National Guard; Col. Michelle Hannah, commander of the 69th Troop Command of the Kansas Army National Guard; Lt. Col. Dave Young, chief of staff of the Kansas Air National Guard; Maj. Jason Davee, deputy state surgeon for the Kansas Army National Guard; and 1st Lt.  Olivia Kennedy, occupational health nurse for the Kansas Air National Guard.

State Use Law Committee

Named Buddy Sell of  Wichita to the panel. Sell works as the senior vice president of operations for Envision, an organization that works to improve the lives of people who are blind or visually impaired. He also has worked as the vice president and general manager for Envision Xpress.

Sell earned bachelor’s in psychology from East Carolina University, and a mini master’s in business administration certificate from Wichita State University. The committee advises the Kansas director of purchases on issues related to buying products and services provided by people who are blind or disabled.

Reach Healthcare Foundation
Community Advisory Committee

Appointed Hazel Lougene Marsh of Shawnee to the committee. Marsh recently retired after working as the director of the Johnson County Department of Health and Environment for 10 years.

She worked as the executive director of the Lyon County Health Department/ Flint Hills Community Health Center. She earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Phillips University, and a master’s in public administration from the University of Kansas.

The committee identifies and nominates candidates to serve on the REACH Healthcare Foundation’s board of directors.

State Board of Technical Professions

Appointed Kimberly Kramer to the board, which registers and licenses engineers, architects, surveyors and landscape architects.

Kramer works as a professor of architectural engineering and construction science at Kansas State University. She also owns KDK Structural Engineers, which does structural engineering for commercial buildings.

She also worked as a specialty formwork engineer for Contractors Engineers. Kramer received a master’s  in civil engineering from the University of Texas at Arlington, and a bachelor’s in architectural engineering from Kansas State University. She is working on a doctorate  in civil engineering from Kansas State University.

Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’
Standards and Training

Appointed Lenexa Police Chief Thomas Hongslo and Hays Police Chief Donald Scheibler to the commission.

The commission ensures that police or law enforcement officers in Kansas have met all requirements of the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Act. It may suspend, revoke or deny the certification of officers who fail to meet the requirements.

Hongslo has been Lenexa police chief since 2012 when he replaced Ellen Hanson. He has a bachelor’s degree from Iowa State University and a master’s degree from Baker University. He is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, the Senior Management Institute of Policing and the University of Kansas Certified Public Manager Program.