How they voted: Balloting for judicial candidates


Here is a look at how each of the nine members of the Supreme Court Nominating Commission voted in recommending three candidates to Gov. Laura Kelly to pick for a seat on the Kansas Supreme Court.

The commission, made up of five lawyers and four nonlawyers, voted in five rounds by paper ballot.

In the sixth and final vote, the panel voted unanimously to recommend three candidates — Evelyn Wilson, Steve Obermeier and Dennis Depew — to the governor for her appointment decision.

Depew was set aside for recommendation after two rounds in which he led the field in votes.

The panel . . .


This content is restricted to subscribers. Click here to subscribe. Already a subscriber? Click here to login.