GOP House candidate making a comeback


Former Johnson County Water District No. 1 board member Terry Frederick is making another run for the Kansas House in 2022.

Frederick, also a former Prairie Village City Council member, plans to run for the House District 48 seat now represented by state Rep. Jennifer Day, who was first appointed to the seat last year to replace former Rep. Dave Benson and later was elected.

Terry Frederick

Day, however, has said on social media that she plans to move out of the district into a new home she and her husband are building in Overland Park.

Day has not officially resigned and it’s not known when she might give up the seat so Democratic precinct leaders can choose a replacement.

Frederick ran for the Overland Park House seat last year and came up 62 votes short against Day in the general election.

Frederick owns his own business and partners with Barnwell Consulting as an accountant and business tax consultant.

He also worked as a director of state and local corporate tax for Sprint from 1999 to 2016. He was with the company for almost 27 years.

He also worked as an assistant manager in income taxes for Kansas City Southern Industries and as a senior tax consultant for Arthur Andersen & Co.

House District 48 covers a swath of Overland Park south of the Interstate 435 loop.

“Being effective in Topeka is about building relationships, studying the issues and learning the process,” Frederick said in a statement.

“Our district has been turned into nothing more than a chess piece in a partisan
political fight and our community has paid the price,” he said.

“I want to go to Topeka to fight for the people I represent and help improve their lives – not just be a rubber stamp for my political party and then move out.”

The district tends to be swingy, going for Democrats and Republicans.

Last year, President Joe Biden won the district with 54% of the vote and Democratic U.S. Senate Barbara Bollier won the district with 52%.

Democratic Gov. Laura Kelly won the district in 2018 as well, but it also was carried by Republican Secretary of State Scott Schwab, Attorney General Derek Schmidt, Insurance Commissioner Vicki Schmidt and former Treasurer Jake LaTurner.

Former Gov. Sam Brownback won the district with 53% in 2014 and presidential candidate Mitt Romney won with about 63% of the vote in 2012.