Democrats choose Miller to replace Kelly in Senate


Democratic precinct leaders on Thursday night picked state Rep. Vic Miller to fill Gov.-elect Laura Kelly's seat in the state Senate.

Miller prevailed over three other candidates: Lucas Ryan, Emily Stanley and Vivien Olsen. Miller won on the first ballot with 49 of the 80 votes available. Olsen received 16 and Stanley got 15.

He will serve out Kelly's Senate term, which ends in 2020. He is not making any commitments about running again in two years.

Miller emphasized the need for an experienced Democratic lawmaker in the Kansas Senate, especially with Kelly and Lt. Gov.-elect . . .


This content is restricted to subscribers. Click here to subscribe. Already a subscriber? Click here to login.