Legislature chooses new leaders with historic elections


Lawmakers picked their new leadership teams Monday, electing Ron Ryckman Jr. to an unprecedented third term as speaker, Ty Masterson as the new Senate president and Dinah Sykes as the Senate's first female minority leader.

There was little drama on Monday as much of the jockeying had already played out weeks ago, especially following last summer's primary election when conservative Republicans overwhelmingly defeated moderates.

Masterson's rise to Senate president had been sealed more than a week ago after moderate Republican Sen. Jeff Longbine bowed out of seeking any leadership position.

The Andover Republican was elected by acclamation . . .


This content is restricted to subscribers. Click here to subscribe. Already a subscriber? Click here to login.