Seven times in the last five years, a child has died at an unlicensed day care in Kansas.
And without the help of law enforcement and local prosecutors, there wasn't much state regulators could do.
Local prosecutors are authorized to fine an unlicensed day care in Kansas $50 for each day the facility is out of compliance. Violation of the law is a misdemeanor.
State regulators, however, have no recourse to take civil action against a violator and often times local prosecutors are so burdened with other crimes that illegal care isn't always a priority.
Critics say $50 . . .