UPDATED: Metsker resigns as Johnson County election commissioner


(Updated to reflect comments from Metsker)

Ronnie Metsker has resigned as Johnson County election commissioner, ending several years of turmoil in the voting office marked by prolonged vote counts in 2016 and 2018.

Metsker, a former Johnson County legislator and former chair of the Johnson County GOP, was appointed to run the office in 2016 by former Secretary of State Kris Kobach.

Metsker replaced former Commissioner Brian Newby, who left to lead the U.S. Election Assistance Commission. Metsker was the county's ninth election commissioner.

The secretary of state appoints the election commissioners in the state's four biggest . . .


This content is restricted to subscribers. Click here to subscribe. Already a subscriber? Click here to login.