July 2, 2020

To the Esteemed Members of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation:

As you are likely aware, a variety of very serious and troubling allegations have been made in regard to former Kansas City, Kansas police detective Roger Golubski, as well as other members of his staff. These allegations include charges of sexual abuse of women, malicious actions toward citizens, and framing of individuals for crimes they did not commit (specifically in the case of Lamonte McIntyre who was recently exonerated). These allegations have shown a pattern of abuse toward poor, minority (people of color) residents – specifically the people Golubski and his force were employed by taxpayers to protect. Despite the preponderance of information that has been brought forward, Golubski has not been held accountable.

We, the signed members of the Kansas Legislature, along with community partners, ask you today to thoroughly investigate this situation immediately. Golubski, and other members of their force involved must be held accountable for their actions.

## Signed,

Senator Marci Francisco Representative Tom Cox District 2 (Lawrence) District 17 (Shawnee)

Senator David Haley Representative Cindy Neighbor District 4 (Kansas City) District 18 (Shawnee)

Senator Barbara Bollier Representative Stephanie Clayton
District 7 (Mission Hills) District 19 (Overland Park)

Senator Dinah Sykes Representative Jan Kessinger District 21 (Lenexa) District 20 (Overland Park)

Senator Mary Ware Representative Jerry Stogsdill District 25 (Wichita) District 21 (Prairie Village)

Representative Eileen Horn Representative Nancy Lusk District 10 (Lawrence) District 22 (Overland Park)

Representative Cindy Holscher Representative Susan Ruiz District 16 (Overland Park) District 23 (Shawnee)

Representative Rui Xu District 25 (Westwood)

Representative Brett Parker District 29 (Overland Park)

Representative Brandon Woodard District 30 (Lenexa)

Representative Louis Ruiz District 31 (Kansas City)

Representative Valdenia Winn District 34 (Kansas City)

Representative Broderick Henderson District 35 (Kansas City)

Representative Barbara Ballard District 44 (Lawrence)

Representative Jennifer Day District 48 (Overland Park)

Representative Jim Gartner District 53 (Topeka)

Representative Annie Kuether District 55 (Topeka)

Representative Sydney Carlin District 66 (Manhattan)

Representative Elizabeth Bishop District 88 (Wichita)

Representative KC Ohaebosim District 89 (Wichita)

## **Community Partners:**





Advocacy and Awareness Group of Johnson County
Grant Chapel AME Church
Allen Chapel AME Church
First AME Church
Victory Triumphs
Erasing Racism JoCo
The Miller Dream Team
Stand on Switzer
No Justice, No Peace Overland Park
SACC Associate Pastors: Denise Dugan, Mark Harmon
Miracle of Innocence Executive Director: Christopher Illif
Rev. Laura Gants Guy