NRA doles out Kansas statehouse endorsements


The National Rifle Association has issued its legislative endorsements for the general election. We already know that the NRA backed Republican Kris Kobach for governor.

In the Congressional races, the group is supporting Republican incumbent Roger Marshall in the 1st District, Republican nominee Steve Watkins in the 2nd, Republican incumbent Kevin Yoder in the 3rd and Republican incumbent Ron Estes in the 4th.

In statewide races, the NRA has endorsed Derek Schmidt for attorney general and Jake LaTurner for treasurer.

It did not make an endorsement in the secretary of state’s race nor the race for insurance commissioner.

Here now are the NRA’s endorsements for the Kansas Legislature but only in contested races:

District 2:
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Adam Lusker, Democrat
Republican challenger: Kenneth Collins

District 3
Endorsed candidate: Terry Calloway, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Monica Murnan, Democrat

District 4
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Trevor Jacobs, Republican
Democratic challenger: Lawrence Forbach

District 5
No endorsement:
Republican candidate: Mark Samsel
Democratic candidate: Lassey Murphy

District 8
Endorsed candidate: Chris Croft
Democratic candidate: Michele Lobitz

District 14
Endorsed candidate: Republican Charlotte Esau
Democratic candidate: Angela Schweller

District 15
Endorsed candidate: Republican John Toplikar
Democratic candidate: Chris Haulmark

District 16
No endorsement
Republican candidate: Sue Huff
Democratic candidate: state Rep. Cindy Holscher, Democrat

District 17
No endorsement
Republican candidate: state Rep. Tom Cox
Democratic candidate: Laura Smith-Everett
Libertarian candidate: Michael Kerner

District 18
Endorsed candidate: Eric Jenkins, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Cindy Neighbor, Democrat

District 19
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Stephanie Clayton, Republican
Democratic challenger: Stephen Wyatt

District 20
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Jan Kessinger, Republican
Democratic challenger: Becky Barber

District 23
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Linda Gallagher, Republican
Democratic challenger: Susan Ruiz

District 25
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Melissa Rooker, Republican
Democratic challenger: Rui Xu

District 26
Endorsed candidate: Adam Thomas
Republican candidate: Deann Mitchell

District 27
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Sean Tarwater, Republican
Democratic challenger: Nicole Rome

District 28
Endorsed candidate: Kellie Warren, Republican
Democratic candidate: Brian Clausen

District 29
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Brett Parker, Democrat
Republican challenger: James Todd, Republican
Libertarian challenger: Robert Firestone

District 30
Endorsed candidate: Wendy Bingesser, Republican
Democratic candidate: Brandon Woodard

District 33
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Tom Burroughs, Democrat
Libertarian challenger: Jason Conley

District 36:
Endorsed candidate: Chiquita Coggs, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore, Democrat

District 38
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Willie Dove, Republican
Democratic candidate: Stuart Sweeney

District 39
Endorsed candidate: Owen Donohoe, Republican
Democratic candidate: Michael Bolton

District 40
Endorsed candidate: David French, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Debbie Deere, Democrat

District 41
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Jeff Pittman, Democrat
Republican challenger: Tony Barton

District 42
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Jim Karleskint, Republican
Democratic challenger: Thea Perry

District 43
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Bill Sutton, Republican
Democratic challenger: Pamela Finley

District 45
No endorsement
Republican candidate: Cynthia Smith
Democratic candidate: Mike Amyx

District 47
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Ron Ellis, Republican
Democratic challenger: George Hanna

District 48
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Abraham Rafie, Republican
Democratic challenger: Dave Benson

District 49
Republican candidate: Megan Lynn, Republican
Democratic candidate: Darnell Hunt

District 50
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Fred Patton, Republican
Democratic challenger: Dan Brennan

District 51
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Ron Highland, Republican
Democratic challenger: Noah Wright

District 52
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Brenda Dietrich, Republican
Democratic challenger: Toni Scalia

District 54
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Ken Corbet, Republican
Democratic challenger: Sarah Coats

District 56
Endorsed candidate: Michael Snowden, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Virgil Weigel, Democrat

District 59
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Blaine Finch, Republican
Democratic challenger: John Hall

District 62
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Randy Garber, Republican
Democratic challenger: Melvin Baker

House District 66
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Sydney Carlin, Democrat
Libertarian challenger: Edgar Chambers

District 67
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Tom Phillips, Republican
Democratic challenger: Alex Van Dyke

District 69
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. J.R. Claeys, Republican
Democratic challenger: Gerrett Morris

District 70
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. John Barker, Republican
Democratic challenger: Jo Schwartz

District 72
Endorsed candidate: Steven Kelly
Incumbent: state Rep. Tim Hodge, Democrat

District 78
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Ron Ryckman Jr., Republican
Democratic challenger: Jason Darby

District 79
Endorsed candidate: Cheryl Helmer, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Ed Trimmer, Democrat

District 81
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Blake Carpenter, Republican
Democratic challenger: Shala Perez

District 82
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Jesse Burris, Republican
Democratic challenger: Danette Harris

District 83
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Henry Helgerson, Democrat
Republican challenger: David Robbins

District 85
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Michael Capps
Democratic challenger: Monica Marks

District 86
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Jim Ward, Democrat
Republican challenger: Jim Price

District 91
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Emil Bergquist, Republican
Libertarian challenger: David Loomis

District 93
No endorsement
Republican candidate: J.C. Moore
Democratic candidate: Clifton Beck

District 94
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Leo Delperdang, Republican
Democratic challenger: Dan Stiffler

District 97
Endorsed candidate: Nick Hoheisel, Republican
Democratic candidate: Rebecca Jenek

District 98
Endorsed candidate: Ron Howard, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Steve Crum, Democrat

District 99
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Susan Humphries, Republican
Democratic challenger: Kristi Kirk

District 100
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Dan Hawkins, Republican
Democratic challenger: Jennifer Winn

District 107
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Susan Concannon, Republican
Libertarian challenger: Bryan Bombardier

District 110
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Ken Rahjes, Republican
Democratic challenger: Kim Thomas

District 111
Endorsed candidate: Barbara Wasinger, Republican
Incumbent: state Rep. Eber Phelps, Democrat

District 113
No endorsement
Incumbent: state Rep. Greg Lewis, Republican
Democratic challenger: David Curtis

District 114
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. Jack Thimesch, Republican
Democratic challenger: Shanna Henry

District 120
Endorsed candidate: Adam Smith, Republican
Democratic challenger: Jerry Hill

District 121
Endorsed candidate: state Rep. John Resman, Republican
Democratic challenger: Nick Gill

District 123
No endorsement
Republican candidate: John Wheeler
Democratic candidatePedro Rodriguez

Special election Senate District 13
Endorsed candidate: state Sen. Richard Hilderbrand, Republican
Democratic challenger: Bryan Hoffman
Libertarian challenger: Sam Habjan